Work in progress

The beginning

The beginning

Every day I enjoy my new hobby. I have a lot of time on my hands so I crochet a lot. Trust me, a couple hundred meters of yarn are flying trough the air over here. Yesterday I’ve finished my very own, very first O no, second made design. More about that one next week I do have to give the gift first before I put it online don’t you think? O, and I learned myself how to crochet beads, super cool! I’m currently working on a bracelet…I need patients for that one…and my granny-square-plaid…and recovering from the accident…O wait, I’m drifting away from the topic, let’s focus on crochet works:

I have made two hats so far and I got a new order! This time somebody is expecting a hat adult size. Because I still can’t go to the shops to buy wool, she bought some herself. Yesterday in between my physiotherapy sessions I started. That stage is actually more important than you would think, because there is a ‘pancake-option’. Once the circle is started I discovered that it’s better that it has a cup-shape instead of a pancake-shape. The danger of the pancake is that the hat will end in the shape of a top-hat (hoge hoed in Dutch). As you can see, I was happy to see that I managed to crochet the cup-shape.

Almost finished!

And I went on…and on… and on…. and I was half way there: That when I started to worry…will this fit?! I rewound the youtube tutorial, but I was really following one for an adult beanie.
So I went on… and on…and went to therapy sessions, and went on… and on…
And the pancake became a cup, and the cup became a children’s hat….yes, I’ve realized that THAT wasn’t the hat I was making aaaargh!

I’d come this far, so I will definitely finish this hat. This tutorial has been followed 323282 times, so maybe I just have to have a little bit more faith. This is what it looks like now, and yesterday the model came for a fitting: it fits after all, it’s really stretchy, a couple of more rows and than I can start to finish off. I’ll keep you posted!

This entry was posted in Created by West! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Work in progress

  1. Blair says:

    The last update was even better!!

  2. Annemarie says:

    Hoi! Ik zag je berichtje op mijn site, maar had nu pas de tijd om even bij jou op bezoek te komen. Ik verwachtte een haaksite, en dat is het ook wel een beetje, maar jemig.. wat een verhaal van je ongeluk! Ik heb alles zitten lezen en ik vind het heel bijzonder om te lezen hoe je aan je herstel werkt. Ik hoop dat je inmiddels weer een stapje verder bent!
    Leuk dat je mijn blog leuk vindt trouwens! Je haakt echt prachtige dingen, dus ik zou het heeel leuk vinden als je meedoet aan Link Your Stuff. Ik zet het vanavond weer online dus je bent van harte welkom. En misschien heb je komende week nog wat aan de links naar de patronen die ik in het kader van de Wanten Week (-: ga plaatsen. Ik vond het in elk geval een redelijk verslavend klusje (-: Fijn weekend alvast!
    Groetjes,
    Annemarie

    • creationwest says:

      Hey, dank je wel voor je lieve bericht! Ik doe hard m’n best om de creatieve dingen de overhand te laten hebben op de site, maar ja, een van de redenen om te beginnen met bloggen was het (van me af) schrijven over wat er is gebeurd. Ik kom zeker weer opdagen bij jouw link-your-stuff! Jij ook fijn weekend! Groetjes Imke

Leave a Reply

