First time zpaghetti…

Mixed feelings….about the use of Zpaghetti.

The first time I found it online I was instant enthusiastic about the look of it. When time passed by I obviously recognized it every where I came (online). And although I’m not a member of hyves, they do have a great page with all sorts of creations made out of zpaghetti.

For the readers who don’t have a clue about what I’m writing about…: zpaghetti is a type of yarn made out of cotton. It is a rest-product from the fashion industry. You can simply say, it’s strings of t-shirt fabric. And you can knit and crochet with it! Because the yarn is quick thick you’ll get a different look and result of when you use wool or cotton. I think it’s quite rustic but with a modern twist.

Due to the thickness of the yarn you also need a giant crochethook, I have one number 12, and it is huge! My first little project was a cover for a vase.

Before

Before

After

After

At home

At home

I enjoyed working with zpaghetti although it was quite hard to get the first couple of rows. My finger muscles were put to the test… Conclusion: mixed feelings. Because it’s such thick yarn you really have to get used to it, but the result is great! I will definitely try it again.

More info about zpaghetti, their webshop and free patterns for crocheted bags, go to Hoooked.
What is your experience?

This entry was posted in Created by West! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to First time zpaghetti…

  1. Sanne says:

    Nice πŸ™‚ Zou het ook om een hele grote vaas lukken die uitloopt?

  2. Lalalizzie says:

    Ik ben voorlopig geen fan. Heb een tijdje terug in een enthousiaste bui veel zpagetti besteld, maar na een paar pogingen (wat een gesleur!) heb ik het opgegeven. Misschien moet ik het nog es een kans geven, want de resultaten bij anderen vind ik altijd mooi (zoals bij jou nu!).

  3. Anna says:

    Hi Imke,

    You are so creative! And so productive too. I am amazed by your output, the different styles etc. I used to love knitting but I haven’t done it for quite a while. And a week ago when I was cleaning up the cupboard I found my old knitting stuff. Might pick up my unfinished scarf where I left it a few years ago….

    Greetings,
    Anna

  4. mara says:

    Zooo mooi … lijkt me leuk om een keer ook te proberen, misschien voor een kussensloop.
    Mara

  5. Dorien says:

    Net als jij heb ik ook behoorlijk gemengde gevoelens mbt zpagetti. Je ziet het overal en ik weet nog steeds niet of ik het nu wel of niet mooi vind. De vaas die je hebt ‘bekleed’ ziet er wel heel leuk uit. Mmmm, misschien toch eens zelf gaan proberen??

  6. tnx voor je lieve berichtje! Ik zal proberen af en toe een update van de klusperikelen te geven πŸ™‚
    Heb trouwens ook met zpaghetti gewerkt, vind het prachtig materiaal, deel je mening over de gemengde gevoelens wel, ben met een tunische haaknaald gaan haken en moet zeggen dat dat niet zo bevorderend werkt op mn RSI….aan de ene kant snel effect door het dikke materiaal, aan de andere kant nog vrij lang bezig omdat je iedere zoveel minuten echt even pauze moet nemen πŸ™‚

  7. Annemarie says:

    Leuk!!! Ik vind ‘m supergaaf geworden! Ik heb leren haken met Zpagetti. Het voordeel is dat het heel makkelijk is om zo te leren haken. Je ziet de steken zo goed zitten en alles is lekker snel klaar (-: nadeel: alles wordt zo groot! (-: Ik maak tegenwoordig niks meer met Zpagetti, alhoewel ik eigenlijk nog wel eens een gehaakte vis van Zpagetti wil maken. Die wordt dan meteen 1 meter breed of zo haha
    Fijn weekend!
    Groetjes, Annemarie

    • creationwest says:

      Hey! Thanks, hij is in het echt iets groter dan dat ie op het plaatje lijkt. Ik snap precies wat je bedoeld, ik vind t ook wel haken voor dummies…. Ken je ze, die gele dummy-boeken πŸ˜‰ Ha ik ben benieuwd naar je vis, jij ook fijn weekend!

  8. Marutska says:

    Ik ben al ruim 2 jaar HOOOKED!!

    Groeten,
    Maria

  9. margot says:

    hier ook een verslaafde maar het is wel topsport en ik had serieus pijn in mijn rechterschouder πŸ˜‰
    mooi zo’n vaasomhulsel, wil ik ook nog eens maken!

Leave a Reply

