Coffee

The morning would have probably be a more appropriate time to place this blog, but hey…now it is! It has been a while. My recovery is going fine, just fine, not great, not bad, just ok. Time to have fun again -sometimes I need time to recover from that- time to train and I am still making progress in the whole recovering process, although it’s sometimes very slowly…

One thing that has kept me going was coffee…. the topic of this post ;-).
Let’s start at the beginning. I can remember that right after the accident I felt sick every time I smelled something…and definitely the specific strong scent of this black warm drink. I made all my visitors chew gum before they came near me…ugh!

In Holland I guess I still didn’t care….a couple of times people brought the better version of the popular drink from the cafeteria – hoping that it was better than the hospital version- but still…no….

Cappuccino…maybe I like that…? No again….

After the hospital when I was home for a short bit I dared to try it and I guess I occasionally liked it, or just a sip of it. The months following in the rehabilitation centre it became more of a social thing the coffee moment. The moment I tried to – in my wheelchair back then-  drink coffee at the cafeteria with my mum, ended in a early wrap up because I needed to lay down….in bed. But…when I started to enjoy the black poison again I was so grateful for all the visitors who brought some…from home or Starbucks!

Recovering means a lot of alone-time. And from the moment I got home in January, this alone-time was often filled with making cups of home-made cappuccino or espresso for myself….and really enjoy them!

Home made cappuccino

Home made cappuccino

One step later was to invited people over for a coffee. And I guess all my friends know now how my coffee-machine works…because they had to make it themselves :-).

Since a couple of months I am asking others to make coffee for me and my friends, because we can meet up in a cafe or a restaurant….sooo so good!

But this weekend surpassed all of these coffees….:-) My sister is getting married in August so my other sister and I organized a bachelor-party (how is that called for a girl??? a Bachelorette?). As she loves Italy and really enjoys her cup of coffee every day…we went to a Barista course at 5×6. For two hours we were totally in the world of coffee, or actually of the latte-art (do type is in at youtube…awesome!). And we had so much fun! What started of as making-a-mess, hilarious figures (nothing near the example) and a cup immersed with milk….ended up with a few great latte-art-cappuccino’s and six very happy girls!!

The master is showing

The master is showing

First try

First try

My sis trying

My sis trying

Good one

Good one

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The perfect layer

The perfect layer

A milky mess

A milky mess

Flooded!

Flooded!

The best one

The best one

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How do you drink your coffee? Cheers!

This entry was posted in Created by West!, Food glorious food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coffee

  1. Myrthe says:

    Het 1e wat ik zo ga doen als ik op kantoor ben is koffie halen! Trek in! 🙂

Leave a Reply

