Something sweet!

This long weekend was the appropriate moment to organize get-togethers, and so did a friend of mine. She organized a creative birthday gift for one of her family members: making a High tea together.
Inspired by this blog post she asked me to make the arrangements and take the lead during the day. I thought it was a great try-out so I took this change with a smile on my face. Because I like baking….although I am not particular good at it, I just like to cook and bake. And it’s even better if people enjoy to eat the result!

To avoid any mis-creations I started a day in advance with the baking. I tried out some recipes.

The dough

The dough

After baking

After baking

The example

The example

My creation!

My creation!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Of course my neighbors were willing to try out this blue one. Tasting a bite learned me that the cake turned out very well, so this recipe was a success! Besides the basic ingredients I collected many things for the family-event. Several toppings, candy to decorate, a couple of food colorings, marzipan etcetera.

 

Being an event-manager by profession I noticed I miss working. During the rehabilitation period there have been many moments that I approached  things in a work-wise way, but that still doesn’t gave me that satisfaction what work can do. This was the perfect opportunity to try out!

Sunday was the event-day. We started of with making sandwiches and stuffed eggs for lunch. Parallel some ladies did the preparations for the birthday cake and the cupcakes. After a break and enjoying the sandwiches it was time to start decorating the cupcakes. Although the get together was more initiated to make everything that belongs in a High tea, the cupcakes were definitely the biggest hit of the day!

In no-time the seven adults were quiet and focussed working on there little sweet projects! Great to see the diversity of creativity. Everyone had their own technic, use of colors, preference of material etcetera.

I am so proud of the result! It was a great day.

The cupcakes!

The cupcakes!

The summer birthday cake

The summer birthday cake!

 

The great result!

The great result!

 

This entry was posted in Created by West!, Food glorious food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Something sweet!

  1. Myrthe says:

    Wat een lief stukje! Ik vond het ook een geweldige middag!!

Leave a Reply

