Creative with food: fruit and flowers

That I like to be creative is already clear… but the last weeks my inspiration to crochet is lacking. But lucky me, I had lots of inspiration on a different level when I visited other blogwebsites and just walked outside. The blossom “Vlierbloesem” can be used for several recipes. I found one to make sirup and I was determined to make it. But….I didn’t know where the blossoms can be found. The description was easy, they are growing pretty much everywhere….euh but yeah still I was a bit lost.

When I was over visiting my love a couple of weeks ago (end of May, the right season for this) I mentioned my plan. But we were in Germany, and the name “Vlierbloesem” didn’t ring a bell, and I didn’t know the translation in English or German.

Later that weekend we had a drink on a terrace, which turned out to be this delicious mix!

Cocktail recipe

Cocktail recipe

After some research on google I found out that “Vlierbloesem” in English translated as Elderflower and even better in German it’sΒ HolunderblΓΌten! The magic ingredient was right there in the garden…

Following this recipe on the Dutch blog of Verwonderland, made the great sirup at home!

Making sirup

Making sirup

This entry was posted in Created by West!, Food glorious food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creative with food: fruit and flowers

  1. Charlotte says:

    mmmm, daar krijg ik meteen zin in! Zo leuk dat je ook de alcoholvrije variant hebt opgeschreven! Toch lust ik over een week of vier best een glaasje met prosecco πŸ˜‰

    Ik wil ook graag eens siroop maken en jam maken lijkt me ook ze leuk!

    xx

    • creationwest says:

      Grappig dat je dat zegt, ik heb ook jam gemaakt namelijk! Ik zal het binnenkort hier plaatsen. Het is heel heel makkelijk! Ik moet even kijken wanneer de koffie het beste uitkomt, maar ik vergeet het niet hoor! xx

  2. Charlotte says:

    Kom maar als het uitkomt en je in de buurt bent! Gezellig!
    Ben benieuwd naar je Jamblogje! x

  3. Jutta says:

    I have still kept two bottles.

Leave a Reply

